Sun, 23
20 °C
Mon, 24
20 °C
Tue, 25
23 °C

Slough Town handed tough start to their Southern League Premier Division campaign

Daniel Darlington

Reporter:

Daniel Darlington

0

Slough Town have been handed a tough start to their Southern League Premier Division campaign, starting at home against Kettering Town on Saturday, August 12.

The Rebels will then travel to two of the league's new boys, Gosport Borough - demoted from the National League South - on Tuesday, August 15 before visiting Hereford on Saturday, August 19. 

Speaking following the release of the league fixtures this morning, joint manager Neil Baker admitted the club couldn't have been handed a much tougher start.

“Ketering will be a team that will be right up there without a doubt,” said Baker. 

“We then go to Gosport Borough who have come down from the Conference South and although they've had some financial problems I'm sure will be competitive. And then there's the big one at Hereford so it's definitely a tough start. 

“Having three big games to start off with is exciting but from a managers' point of view you might have wanted a slightly easier start to get some points on the board and get into a bit of a routine and a rhythm. But, at the same time, Kettering have got to come to us for their first game which I'm sure they won't be delighted about.

“Hereford are probably going to be the team to beat this season, but they're also new to the league so maybe we can take advantage of that.

“They are massive games early on but maybe it's best to play them when there are so many more points to be played for.

“It is what it is but on the whole we're pretty pleased and it also doesn't really matter because you've got to play every team twice.”

The summer and Boxing Day Bank Holiday fixtures will be against Jon Underwood and Baker's former club side Farnborough, with the trip to Cherrywood Road coming on Monday, August 28 and the home fixture on Tuesday, December 26.

The Rebels will visit Chesham United for their first game of 2018 on Monday, January 1 before welcoming the Generals to Arbour Park on Monday, April 2.

Slough end their campaign at home against Royston Town on Saturday, April 28. 

 

Slough Town - Southern League Premier Division fixtures. 

Sat Aug 12 Kettering Town H

Tue Aug 15 Gosport Borough A

Sat Aug 19 Hereford A

Sat Aug 26 St. Ives Town H

Mon Aug 28 Farnborough A

Sat Sep 2 Emirates FA Cup 1Q

Sat Sep 9 Dunstable Town H

Tue Sep 12 Hitchin Town H 

Sat Sep 16 Emirates FA Cup 2Q 

Sat Sep 23 St. Neots Town A 

Tue Sep 26 Redditch United A 

Sat Sep 30 Kings Langley H 

Sat Oct 7 Biggleswade Town H 

Tue Oct 10 Merthyr Town A 

Sat Oct 14 Banbury United A 

Tue Oct 17 Tiverton Town H 

Sat Oct 21 Kettering Town A 

Tue Oct 24 Gosport Borough H 

Sat Oct 28 Buildbase FA Trophy 1Q 

Sat Nov 4 Royston Town A 

Sat Nov 11 Dorchester Town H 

Mon Nov 13 Hitchin Town A 

Sat Nov 18 Weymouth H 

Sat Nov 25 Frome Town A 

Tue Nov 28 Redditch United H 

Sat Dec 2 Basingstoke Town A 

Sat Dec 9 Bishops Stortford H 

Sat Dec 16 King's Lynn Town A 

Sat Dec 23 Stratford Town H 

Tue Dec 26 Farnborough H 

Mon Jan 1 Chesham United A 

Sat Jan 6 Hereford H 

Sat Jan 13 St. Ives Town A

Sat Jan 20 Biggleswade Town A

Sat Jan 27 Merthyr Town H 

Sat Feb 3 Tiverton Town A 

Sat Feb 10 Banbury United H 

Sat Feb 17 Kings Langley A 

Sat Feb 24 St. Neots Town H 

Sat Mar 3 Weymouth A 

Sat Mar 10 Frome Town H 

Sat Mar 17 Bishops Stortford A 

Sat Mar 24 Basingstoke Town H 

Sat Mar 31 Dunstable Town A 

Mon Apr 2 Chesham United H 

Sat Apr 7 Stratford Town A 

Sat Apr 14 King's Lynn Town H 

Sat Apr 21 Dorchester Town A

Sat Apr 28 Royston Town H 

Comments

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on

Characters left: 1500

Most Shared

Most Commented

Top Ten Articles