Bowls round-up: Desborough lose first outdoor game of the season on challenging green

Steve Isaac


Desborough travelled down the A4 to Cippenham for their first outdoor game of the 2022 season and, on a challenging green, fell to a 16-shot defeat (114-98).

In this first outdoor match of the season, Desborough's players appeared to struggle to find their natural rhythm while Tony Buckley's rink completely lost their way to lose 31-8.

The visitors did manage to win two rinks, however, with captain Mike Whittingham leading his team to a 21-14 win, however, top rink honours went to Maureen O’Reilly, Mark Harris and Roger Wyatt who won by 13 shots, 24 – 11.

Rink scores: R Stallwood, D Isaacs, B Wright 15 – 19; M O’Reilly, M Harris, R Wyatt 24 – 11; V Wyatt, B Forster, M Whittingham 21 – 14; H Boyce, A Isaac, S Isaac 14 – 21; P Hatch, L Stallwood, K Roper 16 – 18; P Winstanley, G Braddock, T Buckley 8 – 31.

The early season setbacks continued at Green Lane as Desborough beaten by local rivals Maidenhead Thicket.

Two of the six rinks went the home side's way with both John Davis' and Steve Isaac's teams winning by one shot, but this was another game to chalk up to experience.

Rink scores: E Sharp, P Patel, M Everard, E Sharp 8 – 31; V White, M Hobson, J Monteiro, J Davis 20 – 19; H Payne, M Harris, A Isaac, M Whittingham 7 – 22; P Arnott, J Walker, P Winstanley, S Isaac 18 – 17; T Philpott A Davis, K Barao, M White 14 – 31; J Marshall, L Davis, B Forster, K Roper 12 - 26.


Maidenhead Town Bowls Club got their outdoor season underway with their annual tussle against London Irish and on this occasion, they were narrowly beaten by two shots.

This friendly match has often marked the start of the new season and, after a difficult couple of years with the pandemic, it was nice for both clubs to get back this taste of normality. After a close game the visitors ran out 84-82 winners and there were several impressive displays on both sides. Top rink for Maidenhead was skipped by John Butchart and was assisted by Steve Wheeler, Iain Bond, and Martin Behmber, with the team running out 28-15 winners.

Editor's Picks

Most read

Top Articles